Cloth Diapering – Why Do It?

When I started researching cloth diapering before my first daughter was born, I learned that it’s a whole world I never knew about with an overwhelming amount of terms, brands, methods, ideas, and information.

100_3958

I have now been cloth diapering for over a year, and through my experience and research, I have developed opinions and preferences that I feel are helpful and worth sharing. I spent hours on YouTube, blogs, and diaper brand websites because I couldn’t get all the information I wanted in one place. I’m not about to say that if you read this series of posts you need not read anything else, but I am going to do my best to do a thorough explanation of the terms used for cloth diapering, the different kinds of diapers available, which ones I like for what purposes, how to prep them, use them, and clean them.

But before we get into all of that, today I just want to talk about why to cloth diaper. I can see why one would be hesitant to cloth diaper when it requires additional laundry, which may be the last thing you want to add to your list as a Mom, but there are a few main reasons that I cloth diaper that I want to share with you, and these reasons have been motivation enough for me to spend the time on extra laundry, so let’s get into it!

 

  1. Safe for baby. This is my top reason for cloth diapering. Disposable diapers are made with various plastics and many chemicals, all of which make them work very well and are even said to be safe, but I’m not really comfortable with them. Dioxins and sodium polyacrylate, two of the chemicals found in disposable diapers, have either been linked to or have caused cancer, reproductive and infertility problems, asthma and respiratory distress, hormonal problems, developmental & cognitive problems, suppressed immune systems, diabetes, endometriosis, allergic reactions, chemical burns, and chloracne. Now, to be fair, they are used in very small amounts and even said to be safe, but I’m not sure how they justify the safety, and it’s not worth the risk to me.
  2. Environmentally friendly. This is also up for debate since you need to use water and electricity to wash the cloth diapers, but I feel much better about not throwing hundreds of diapers into the landfill every year, particularly because I don’t think my water usage in the Midwest can really help California or Africa or any other place where they have water shortages. I’d rather produce less waste than more waste and cloth diapers are a huge way I can do that.
  3. Saves $1,000 – $2000 per child! The up front cost of cloth diapering could range from $100 – $800 if you really went all out, so honestly, if you only want one child and are not concerned about the safety or environmental impact of disposables, you won’t save a remarkable amount. But if you plan to have even two children the savings start to add up.
  4. They are so adorable! As long as you can avoid the trap of buying all the cutest prints when they come out which will lead to an excessive amount of diapers and way more money spent than necessary, this part is super fun!

100_3957

For me, the extra effort and time that has gone into cloth diapering my daughter has been totally worth it! I don’t regret it and I will definitely do it with our future children as well.

 

Sources:

Awesome Beginnings 4 Children – The Harmful Chemicals in Disposable Diapers

Livestrong – Chemicals in Disposable Diapers

Webmd – Solving Your Diaper Dilemma

 

Leave a Reply

